Scroll to content translate email key-information schoolmoney map acorn-assessment-centre our-federation parents-and-carers executive-headteachers-welcome search newsletters-and-letters easyfundraising home infant-nursery-junior-logo-icon phone calendar burger-menu
Queenswell Junior School Logo

Queenswell Junior School

Contact Us
Content Scroll

Reading and Writing

Welcome to our Reading and Writing page!

 

INTENT

Reading is like breathing in, Writing is like breathing out…

At The Queenswell Federation, we want all of our pupils to love their teaching and learning in all areas of English: Speaking and Listening,  Reading, Writing and Spelling, Grammar and Punctuation. Our aim is to develop confident, articulate and creative learners in English. We believe that immersing the children in a language rich environment will inspire and promote a love of Reading and Writing.

Our creative, broad and balanced curriculum follows a clear pathway of progression through from EYFS up to Year 6. We know that a secure foundation in English skills is crucial to children succeeding in all areas of the curriculum. We always ‘promote high standards of literacy by equipping pupils with a strong command of the spoken and written word, and to develop their love of literature through widespread reading for enjoyment.' (National Curriculum 2014)

 

 

This page is here for all things to do with Reading and Writing. Please come and see me if you would like to share book reviews for books you have read or stories/poems that you have written and I will publish them on this page for you. 

 

Ideas for new books-

https://www.lovereading4kids.co.uk/kids-zone/  this link takes you to a great website that gives you all the latest books out for children including reviews. If you go to the kids zone section there are competitions for you to enter to win books too!

Also another great website for book reviews and giveaways is Toppsta.com- check it out. I have won several books for our Library through this website and it's all free. 

TOPPSTA READING BINGO!

 

Here is a Reading pack for you to download and take part in the reading bingo challenge. It also has lots of new book recommendations to help you choose your next read! 

https://toppsta.com/pdf/Toppsta%20Reading%20Pack.pdf

 

 

Videos of authors reading stories- this link is perfect if you are in between books but still want some storytime with authors reading their books to you! 

https://www.lovereading4kids.co.uk/kids-zone/videos

Books to look out for!

 

 

If you were a fan of 'The Boy at the Back of the Classroom' by Onjali Q Rauf, then you might like to try her new book 'The Night Bus Hero' that was only released two weeks ago. Read the blurb below to see if you think you will enjoy the book. 

 

"The boy's an absolute menace. Why can't he be more like his sister? He's a bully! He's a lost cause."

 

I have been getting into trouble for as long as I can remember. Usually I don't mind because some of my best, most brilliant ideas have come from sitting in detention. But recently it feels like no one believes me about anything-even when I'm telling the truth!

And it's only got worse since I played a prank on the old man who lives in the park. 

Everyone thinks I'm just a bully. They don't believe I could be a hero. So I'm going to prove them all wrong.

 

 

For older children, The Goldfish Boy is a book about a twelve-year-old boy, Matthew, is trapped in his bedroom by crippling OCD. Until one day his neighbour disappears and he must become a detective to solve the mystery.

This story is perfect for fans of The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night Time and Wonder. It is a book that will make you laugh and cry.

 

BOOK REVIEWS

 

If you have read a book that you would like to share with the school, please bring it to me or give it to your teacher and the can pass it on to get it published on this page.

 

 

BOOK DONATIONS and BOOK CORNERS

Don't forget, if you have any old books that are still in good condition, you can always donate them to your class book corner. I have a stamp that I put in the book with your name on. 

 

Look out for some of these new books in your book corners.

Remember, reading is like dreaming with your eyes wide open!

Miss Evans :-)